Introduction of food gelatin

Introduction of food gelatin

Food gelatin may be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as yogurt, cream cheese, and margarine;

it is used, as well, in fat-reduced foods to simulate the mouthfeel of fat and to create volume.

Gelatin is also a powerful protective colloid with strong emulsifying power. After entering the stomach, it can inhibit the aggregation of milk, soy milk and other proteins due to gastric acid, thereby facilitating food digestion.

Food gelatin uses collagen from the bones and skins of pigs, cattle, sheep and other animals. Processed through denaturation and degradation. Containing more than 8 types of L-amino acids, it is a pure protein. Free of fat and cholesterol. It is a gelatin food made of wool, which is easily absorbed by the human body.

Get A Quote


Gelatin & Collagen Collagen peptides are widely used in nutrition bar, sport drinks, solid drinks, functional food, collagen tablets, Cosmetics,etc.


Food grade & Pharmaceutical grade & Feed grade Gelatin and collagen can mouth feel improvement, protein enhancement, water retention, etc.

Certified Quality

HALAL & ISO & SGS Professional gelatin and collagen products. HALAL, ISO 22000, ISO 14001, and ISO 9001. certified

Foodmate Gelatin

Foodmate Co., Ltd. is an expert on manufacturing gelatin and collagen with an R&D team of over 8 years of experience. It is a 100% owned subsidiary manufacturing plant of Foodchem Group, the TOP 3 Suppliers & Manufacturer of food ingredients in China. The manufacturing base covers an area of about 6600㎡, whose production capacity reaches 3000 tons/year. Both pharmaceutical and food-grade gelatin are exported regularly to over 52 countries, which are fully certificated on HALAL, ISO 22000, ISO 14001, ISO 9001, and FDA.

We commit to world-class quality, safety, efficiency and invonation to sustain the constant growth of our strategic partners as well as Foodmate business.

Learn More

Preparation method of food gelatin

Alkali preparation method
The animal bones and skins are fully immersed in lime emulsion, neutralized with hydrochloric acid, washed with water, boiled at 60-70°C, and then preserved, bleached, frozen, chipped, and dried. The finished product is called "B-type gelatin" or "alkaline gelatin".
Acid preparation
The raw materials are acidified in a cold sulfuric acid solution with a pH of 1 to 3 for 2 to 8 hours, rinsed and immersed in water for 24 hours, boiled at 50 to 70°C for 4 to 8 hours, then gelled, extruded and dried. The finished product is called "Type A Gelatin" or "Acid Gelatin".
Enzyme preparation method
The raw material skin is hydrolyzed with protease and treated with lime for 24 hours, and then it is obtained by neutralization, boiling, concentration, freezing and drying.

Preparation method of food gelatin

Raw material for the production of food gelatin

The raw materials for edible gelatin production are different from industrial gelatin. It needs to be processed with fresh, strictly quarantined, and without any chemical treatment of animal bones or raw skins such as pigs and cattle, and is dried and crushed in a fully enclosed assembly line. The difference between edible gelatin and industrial gelatin. Edible gelatin is a kind of glue extracted from animal bones or connective tissue. The main component is protein. It is not a harmful substance. It is a legal food additive and is widely used in various foods. It is even the same as the main ingredient of the traditional supplement "Ejiao". The gelatin produced by the hydrolysis of leather is called industrial gelatin, and it is not a legal food additive.

Gelatin is also a powerful protective colloid with strong emulsifying power. After entering the stomach, it can inhibit the aggregation of milk, soy milk and other proteins caused by gastric acid, thereby facilitating food digestion.

Raw material for the production of food gelatin

Specific usage of food gelatin

1. Soak the rubber powder and water at a ratio of 1:3 (that is, one part of rubber powder plus one to three parts of cold water) for 40-60 minutes.

2. After absorbing water and swelling, dissolve in indirect heating. Do not heat directly during the sol. The temperature of the sol should be controlled at about 75℃. Water should not be added during use. The amount of edible gelatin in the fruit cake is 5%-10%.

3. food gelatin can be used in medical soft and hard capsules, surgical dressings, hemostatic sponge, aspic, food additives, canned food, candy, sorbet, ham sausage, skin jelly, soda suspension, test agent, starch, ice cream and other food industries Etc., implement the national standard GB6783-94.

Specific usage of food gelatin
User Reviews

What users say about FOODMATE

Fish film is very easy to use. I have bought it many times and the quality is very good. It is used to make mousse cake, jelly, and cheese sticks. They are all good and easy to use.


The method of use is simple and convenient, soaking in cold water is soft, and it is melted by heating in water. Used to make mousse cakes, it was successful the first time.


Take out each piece of the same color and size, crystal clear, look carefully without any impurities, the quality is very good.


The quality is very good, the fishy smell is not too heavy to be acceptable, the desserts made are also very good, and the Q is delicious.


I bought the coconut milk recipe, very successful, convenient and convenient!


It is very simple to use, open the package, take the film, tear it into pieces, put it in a container, soak it in 30 ml of pure water, and then heat it in a water bath to let the film dissolve.


There is a sealing strip on the packaging bag, which can be sealed each time after taking it, which is convenient for storage and basically has no fishy smell.

Frequently Asked Question

Do you have any question?

The only non-vegetarian additive in yogurt is gelatin, as for what we know today. “There's no actual meat in the yogurt, but the gelatin is derived from animals,” she explains, which can be considered to not be vegetarian, depending on how strictly you follow a vegetarian diet. | food gelatin

A typical marshmallow contains sugar, corn syrup, and gelatin, plus some air. That's it. “A marshmallow is basically a foam that's stabilized by gelatin,” says Richard Hartel, a food engineer at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. In marshmallows, the foam is made up of air suspended in the liquid sugar mixture. | food gelatin

Does ice cream contain gelatin? Yes, although not used as extensively as it once was, gelatin may still be used in a few cases as a stabiliser. It can be found in some ice lollies and almost all mousses. | food gelatin

Get In Touch

Don't hesitate to contact with us

Sending your message. Please wait...